The Most Cautiously Optimistic Week With Bonus Visit to NYC EVER

March 30, 2009 at 11:25 am 1 comment

This past week was perhaps one of the more eventful ones of the last year or so.  Most notably, Max & Sara started attending a local magnet integrated school for preschoolers and kindergarteners.  Technically, it’s 50% children with special needs and 50% “typical peers”, a term I have come to loathe and be moderately amused by since what the fuck can be deemed “typical” at 3, 4 or 5 years of age?  Not much, that’s what, but I digress.  Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday of last week were visiting days when the three of us hung around to check out their classrooms and respective teachers (because the kids were shoe horned into the program, they’re in separate classes), special education teachers, speech language pathologists and other staff.  In the spirit of full disclosure, this particular school, anectodally, doesn’t have the best reputation for being much more than a glorified free day care, since it’s a full-day, 5 day/week program that caters mostly to lower income families and their children.  With that being said, and granted, I’ve only been involved with the school and its staff for a month or so, but I can say with a great deal of confidence that my children are already being better served there than at their previous preschool.

Sure, it’s early on in the process and our exposure to services and such has been limited, but when the head of special ed comes and meets me at the front door at pick-up time on Thursday to reassure me that Sara, who I’d left in a heap of sobs and screams that morning, bucked up almost immediately after I’d left and she seemed to be acclimating herself to her class nicely.  And, as a special bonus, Max appears to be nearly ready to embark on a full-day schedule, as he tolerated most transitions and activities with a reasonable amount of patience. On Friday when I arrived, Sara’s class was just finishing up gym time and I was told Max would be out of the computer lab shortly.  “Seriously?  Gym and computer lab?  At THREE?” My new friend the special ed teacher chuckled, “Yep! And from what I hear, both kids did GREAT!”

It seems I was correct in my assessment that traditional, mainstream preschool just wasn’t for us.  This place seems like it’s the ticket, but I’m still only cautiously optimistic and will likely remain so until I have at least a few months of attendance under our belts.

So far, so good.

Last Tuesday, my husband was gracious enough to rearrange his schedule which allowed me to hop a train to NYC, where I attended the reading/book signing for Heather Armstrong‘s new book, It Sucked and I Cried.  The event took place at the Barnes and Noble in Tribeca, an area of the city I haven’t had the opportunity to explore much at all, so you can imagine how excited I was to have sometime to mill about and at the prospect of meeting one of my blogging heroes.  Unfortunately, because of some parking snags at my local train station, I missed my intended train, and didn’t arrive at Grand Central until nearly 6pm, allowing only an hour to make my way to Tribeca.  Anyone who is familiar with NYC at rush hour knows the pace at which mobs making their way home can move.  Despite what you may think, it’s SLOOOOW, and I walked in not long before Heather took the stage and had just enough time to grab a book and take a seat.  No matter what opinions you may have of Heather or of her blog, Dooce, that lady?  Is a funny motherfucker.  I mean, REALLY funny.  And tall.  But, mostly funny and quite entertaining.  She read a few passages from her book and took the time to sign copies of nearly every person who’d shown up that evening.  All told, not a shabby way to spend the night.

Entry filed under: Autism/Aspergers or Something Like It, Blogging, Momma Drama.

A Different Type of Loss I Would Kiss Them on the Mouth, If It Was Appropriate

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  March 31, 2009 at 6:10 am

    I’m glad it is going well, and I am still a little sad I couldn’t make the NYC trip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



