A Whole New Hue of Pissed Off

March 17, 2009 at 9:56 pm 2 comments

I should be in bed right now.  I should be sleeping, fighting off this cold that I’m coming down with, but instead, I’m stressing and steaming.  I’m pissed off like I haven’t been in a long, long time.  And, can you imagine what I might be pissed off about?

The fucking stupid ass public education system, that’s what.

So, Thursday we have a PPT (planning and placement team) meeting for both Max and Sara’s transition into this new, fabulous, public, integrated preschool.  I’ve looked over the notices we received in the mail about a thousand times, scrutinizing it for any indication of what we might expect at this meeting.  D and I plan to attend, obviously, in addition to our child psychotherapist, several school staff members (each kid’s mainstream classroom teacher, special ed teacher, speech therapist, occupational therapist) and a representative from the school district.  In other words, it’s a meeting of the minds.  During the same conversation that informed me to the scheduling of this meeting, I inquired as to when my children might be able to start school, as we are pulling them from their current school and would like them to be enrolled as soon as possible, and since the school year is quickly drawing to a close.  Not to mention, with two kids who suffer from sensory issues, the LAST thing I want is to put them in school for a few weeks just in time to snatch them back out for the summer and eff with their schedules which all but ensures that craziness will ensue.  The preschool liason from my home school district assured me they’d be able to begin immediately after the meeting.  Weeeee!

Not so fast, sweet cheeks.  As I’m sitting here reading this notice, I see NOTHING about developing an IEP (individualized education plan), which is required BY LAW for any special education student to start school.  And, for those of you unfamiliar with the special ed landscape, the IEP?  Is massive.  It’s almost comical how much time and information is put into such a document, but at the same time, it’s CRUCIAL to have a plan in place to deal with a special education student’s unique needs.

So, our meeting is Thursday, which also coincides with Max & Sara’s last day at their current preschool, and we have nothing on the agenda except to to around the room, introduce ourselves, and say, “So.  You think these kids need special ed?  Yep.  Ok.  Done.”

You can bet your bottom dollar I sent emails to all interested parties to clarify for me, exactly what the fuck it is we’re going to be doing at this meeting, besides exchange niceties and hear, ONCE AGAIN, that my kids need help.

Someone.  Please.  Stick a SPORK in my eye.  I’m not sure how much of this mess I can take.

Entry filed under: Autism/Aspergers or Something Like It, Momma Drama, Operation: Does My Butt Look too Small in This?, Uncategorized.

Extreme Makeover, Accidental Edition A Different Type of Loss

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MJ  |  March 19, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Saying a prayer right now that they get their tails in gear and get everything situated for your kids!

    Hang in there, you WILL get through this mess. Your kids are so lucky to have a mom like you!

    Reply
  • 2. Debbie  |  March 30, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Keep the faith (and have some wine)

    We wasted almost an entire school year trying to get my daughter out of a regular Kindergarten class. She was FINALLY appropriately placed at the beginning of the last 9wks. Argh.

    This year is much better, she has good IEP in place and goes to a regular 1st grade class for 1/2 the day.

    Say sane!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



