The Day We Both Learned to Smile

February 17, 2009 at 11:37 am 2 comments

DSC02785

I will always look at this picture and smile through happy tears.

Today, I brought out the camera to snap a few photos of Sara wearing an outfit handed down to us by my sister, a favorite ensemble of my neice when she was just about the same age as my daughter.

Normally, when I take Sara’s picture, she’s all over the place.  She has always had a tough time making eye contact and concentrating long enough to get a good photograph.  I’m not sure if that’s her sensory issues coming to the surface or just her being a great big three-year-old, but it’s been tough for her.  As you can see from the above evidence, that’s all changed.  I’m almost ready to call John Casablancas, she’s so photogenic all of a sudden.

More importantly, I’ve seen a great shift and marked change in Sara; Where she once failed to engage, she now is a jibbering conversationalist.  She randomly walks over to me and others to say, “I wuv you.”  Yesterday, during an afternoon playdate here at home, I overheard her yelling down the hallway to her friend, “C’MON!  HURRY UP!  FOLLOW MEEEEEEEEEEEE!”  Everytime the phone rings, she wants to chat to whomever is calling.  Most notably, when I ask her a question, I no longer receive just a blank stare but instead, she retorts with some cute response almost immediately.  This is what we’ve been waiting for.  This is what we’ve been missing.

The part that makes me smile the most?  That there’s more still to come.

Entry filed under: Autism/Aspergers or Something Like It, Momma Drama.

Living For the Only Thing I Know 27 Minutes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  February 17, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Awww! They are adorable!

    Reply
  • 2. Nan  |  February 20, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Great picture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



