Diagnosis Day

January 22, 2009 at 5:55 pm 1 comment

So, it’s official.

I’m NOT crazy.

We met with our beloved child psychotherapist today who, with great care, ease and detail, reviewed all of the information and observations he’s collected over the last few months about Max and Sara.  He explained, line by line, bit by bit, what each term and test meant, in layman’s terms.

Although he prefaced his diagnoses with a clarification that they are nothing more than a picture in time of what is happening right now, and by no means an indication of what is to come, the blow of the label almost knocked me right off his couch.

Both my kids suffer from PDD-NOS.  Pervasive Developmental Disorder-Not Otherwise Specified.  PDD-NOS as described by the Yale University Child Study Center:

The term Pervasive Developmental Disorder – Not Otherwise Specified (PDD-NOS; also referred to as “atypical personality development,” “atypical PDD,” or “atypical autism”) is included in DSM-IV to encompass cases where there is marked impairment of social interaction, communication, and/or stereotyped behavior patterns or interest, but when full features for autism or another explicitly defined PDD are not met.

Our doctor, who I can’t say enough fantabulous things about for his sensitive nature and exceedingly loving manner in which he interacts and speaks of my children, went on to clarify that this diagnosis has a rather large sensory integration component.  And, it is his expert opinion, that with thorough and productive Occupational Therapy, parental involvement and some help on his end, we’ll likely see our kids advance quickly.

At present, the only way I can describe how I feel is somewhat mournful.  I saw a very different life when I envisioned where I’d be today, and I won’t sugar coat the truth:  it’s hard.  Very hard.  I can handle my kids and their exhausting ways, but what I’m most sad for is the possibility of a label clouding how others see my children.  To me, they’re perfect.  To the rest of the world, who knows.

Onward and upward, I suppose.

Entry filed under: Autism/Aspergers or Something Like It, Momma Drama.

Clarity Graham’s Story

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michele  |  January 28, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Sherry! I have been out of the blog loop for a while but your Facebook link brought me here. I am sorry to hear about diagnosis day. Yet I also know you will be a wonderful advocate for those two gorgeous kids. I look forward to reading more about this journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



