Hopes Are in the Up Position

December 11, 2008 at 11:46 pm Leave a comment

Tuesday morning, I carted the kids off to preschool like I do every week.  And, like every week since October, I planned on sticking around for the duration of the class to help diffuse any behavioral explosion from Mr. Max.  Class started sometime around 9:45am, and surprisingly, Max cooperated more than he has perhaps in all his short time as a preschool student.  His teacher approached me at approximately 10:13 and suggested I take a break, and go get a cup of coffee.  Um, excuse me?

“Are you kicking me out?”

“Yes.  I am.  Go for an hour or so…I have your cell phone number.  What’s the worst that could happen?”

I think I kicked up some dust in my wake as I skipped out the door.

Please, I said looking skyward, please God.  Let him be OK.  I turned up the volume on my cellphone, hopped in my car and pointed towards the local coffee shop.  A bit less than an hour later, I returned, bearing a gift of coffee for the teacher as a thank you gift for enduring the most colossal meltdown I was certain he had while I was gone.  The assistant teacher opened the door to let me in.  I asked how he did, and she torted with a peppy, “Fine.”

“No, I don’t think you understand.  I meant Max.  MY Max.  Not Sara, Max.”

“Yep.  I know.  He was fine.”

I had no idea what to say or how to react.  Perhaps it was a freak occurance?  We would see later in the week, which brought us to today.

My husband brought the kids to school today while I stayed home to clean the house.  He had strict instructions on what to do in the event of a breakdown.  I asked that he call me if things began to take a downhill slide, and I sat in my house awaiting that inevitable phone call.  Like clockwork, the phone rang at 10am.

“Hey…guess where I am,” D asked.  He was in his truck enroute to…somewhere.

“Bringing Max home?”

“Nope.  Julie kicked me out.  She told me not to bother coming into the class until dismissal.  How about that!”

How about that?

In the interest of full disclosure and to satisfy a bit a of cockiness and likely false sense of confidence in what I’m doing, it seems we have a few strategies that just might perhaps I dunno but I think are semi-helping, sort of.  Each morning and evening, I’ve been doing some massage on Max’s legs and feet for anywhere between 15 and 20 minutes, which he seems to enjoy tremendously.  We also encourage him to engage in a physical release when we see the signs of a building outburst.  For example, I crouch down, put my palms up towards him and tell him to try and push me over.  For some reason, it seems to redirect his attention and sort of reset his attitude.  We’re also incorporating at least 30-45 minutes each day of full-board physical activity.  I tell him to jump on his bed or run laps around our little house or run outside or we do jumping jacks…something, anything to give him a release.  We just started these strategies this past week, and it seems they’re working.  So far, so good.

In the coming months, we’ll construct something called a sensory diet for Max with the help of an OT and his psychologist.  We’re working with his teacher to keep things on the upswing.  At home, time outs infrequently pop up in our day and, aside from what I can only gather is typical 3 year old behavior, our days are peppered with little nuggets like Max peeking from around a corner asking, “Mom, can we go to China?”

Things, for now, are looking up.

Entry filed under: Autism/Aspergers or Something Like It, Momma Drama.

Back to Blogging…Finally Charlie Brown, I’m Glad to Know You

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



